My Highlights of 2017

With the arrival of the new year of 2018, I’m writing a post dedicated to 2017, listing out some of the things that happened around me in the previous year.

1. A surprise letter from Tun M, the former Prime Minister of Malaysia

On the 12th of January, I received a letter from Tun Dr. Mahathir, replying to my article,“Perjanjian DAP, PKR, PAN, PPBM Untuk Meminda Perkara 3(1)?” In the article, I did not even mention Tun M’s name but only commented about how the word ‘bebas’ in the agreement between DAP, PKR, PAN and Mahathir’s PPBM can undermine and violate the Article 3(1) of the Federal Constitution. So Tun M replied to my article came as a real surprise but unfortunately I am sad to say that not only Tun M’s explanation does not answer my question, but it also makes the matter more confusing because the fact that the Article 3(1) is the Article that explains about Islam as the religion of the Federation and it’s position over other religions in Malaysia and not about the rights to convert to other religions. [Read more…]

2. Made the news on national media

I was interviewed by Berita Harian, Utusan Malaysia and Harian Metro and was featured on the front page of Utusan Malaysia which later led me to being reported on news portals including Astro Awani, MalaysiaKini,  Free Malaysia Today, Tanjak and many others receiving attention from several politicians like Mejar Jeneral (B) Datuk Seri Jamil Khir Baharom, Dr. Asyraf Wajdi, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and Ibrahim Ali. [Read more…]

3. Meeting YB Datuk Md Jais Sarday on his last day as the Education, Information and Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development Exco of Johor

I had the chance to meet Datuk Jais Sarday in Pasir Gudang on his last day as the Education, Information and Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development Exco of Johor before moving to his new post as the Housing and Local Government Exco of Johor. [Read more…]

4. Attending the Bukit Aman Special Branch Aidilfitri Open House

On the 11th of July, I attended the Aidilfitri open house by the Bukit Aman Special Branch, where I had the chance to meet the then Deputy Inspector-General of PDRM, Tan Sri Nor Rashid Ibrahim, and even managed to get his autograph. [Read more…]

5. Witnessing the court case of Eric Paulsen v. Ustaz Hafiz Nordin

I attended the court proceedings of the High Court case of Eric Paulsen v. Ustaz Hafiz Nordin, where Eric Paulsen failed to defamation case against the Chairman of Jaringan Muslimin Pulau Pinang (JMPP), Ustaz Hafiz Nordin at the High Court of Kuala Lumpur. This is my first experience of witnessing the whole proceeding of a high profile case. [Read more…]

6. My first solo talk to a crowd of over 400 students in JB

I was invited as the official ambassador of Muafakat Pendidikan Johor, to give a speech to the students and teachers of the SMK Tan Sri Mohamed Rahmat in Kempas, Johor Bahru as part of Muafakat Pendidikan Johor’s ‘Jelajah Kemerdekaan’ program, on the 21st of August. In about an hour talk, I talk about the basic foundation of our country, starting with the history of the formation of Malaysia, basic principles of the country, the sovereignty of the Federation, and also a brief introduction to the Federal Constitution of Malaysia. [Read more…]

7. Program Ibadah Qurban dan Majlis Ramah Mesra IKSIM

I attended the Program Ibadah Qurban dan Majlis Ramah Mesra IKSIM on the 4th of September, which is my first experience in taking part and helping out at a qurban event. [Read more…]

8. Meeting Tan Sri Shahrir Samad

I got the chance to spend some times talking to Tan Sri Shahrir Samad, the Member of Parliament of the Johor Bharu. Despite how certain people tried to paint him, I find him as very polite, soft spoken, funny and very friendly. [Read more…]

9. The officiating program of the Pusat Latihan DIAN IKSIM (PLDI)

I attended the officiating program of IKSIM’s training centre in Batang Kali, Selangor; where I also met the Minister at the Prime Minister’s Department, Mejar Jeneral (B) Datuk Seri Jamil Khir Baharom. [Read more…]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.